Sherry Lansing
CEO, The Sherry Lansing Foundation

During almost 30 years in the motion picture business, Sherry Lansing was involved in the production, marketing, and distribution of more than 200 films, including Academy Award winners Forrest Gump (1994), Braveheart (1995), and Titanic (1997). Throughout her film career, Lansing earned a reputation as a trailblazer, a visionary leader, and a creative filmmaker. In 1980, she became the first woman to head a major film studio when she was appointed President of 20th Century Fox. Later, as an independent producer, Lansing was responsible for such successful films as, Fatal Attraction, The Accused, School Ties, Indecent Proposal, and Black Rain. Returning to the executive ranks in 1992, she was named Chairman and CEO of Paramount Pictures and began an unprecedented tenure that lasted more than 12 years (1992 – 2005), during which the studio enjoyed enormous creative and financial success.

The Sherry Lansing Foundation (SLF), a nonprofit organization dedicated to cancer research, health, public education, and encore career opportunities, was formed in 2005. Among the SLF’s initiatives is the EnCorps STEM Teachers Program, founded by Lansing to retrain retired and mid-career professionals from the technology sector to serve as math and science teachers in California public schools. Lansing – a former math and English teacher – is also the founder of PrimeTime LAUSD, a partnership with the Los Angeles Unified School District. PrimeTime engages retirees in improving the state of public education through targeted volunteerism. In addition, Lansing serves on the Board of Regents of the University of California. She is also a co-founder of the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Greater Los Angeles scholarship fund, which provides college scholarships to deserving “Little Sisters” and “Little Brothers.”

Additionally, Lansing serves on the boards of the EnCorps STEM Teachers Program, the Broad Museum, the Carter Center, the Entertainment Industry Foundation, the W.M. Keck Foundation, the Lasker Foundation, the Pacific Council on International Policy, and the Scripps Research Institute.  She also serves on the Executive Committee of Friends of Cancer Research. In addition, Lansing is a co-founder of the Stand Up To Cancer initiative, which funds collaborative, multi-institutional cancer research “Dream Teams.”

Lansing graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Science Degree from Northwestern University in 1966.

Honors Received

Honorary Degrees

Honorary Doctor of Sciences, City of Hope, Los Angeles
Honorary Doctorate in Fine Arts, American Film Institute
Doctor of Humane Letters, Columbia College
Doctor of Humane Letters, Emerson College
Doctor of Humane Letters, University of Miami
Doctor of Humane Letters, Northwestern University
Doctor of Humane Letters, Occidental College
Doctor of Humane Letters, Pennsylvania State University
Doctor of Humane Letters, Pepperdine University Doctor of Letters, Pine Manor College

Awards and Honors

UCLA Women & Philanthropy Icon Award 2019
National Women’s Hall of Fame 2017
Angel Award (Stand Up to Cancer founders), Farrah Fawcett Foundation 2017
National Museum of American Jewish History 2016
Carousel of Hope, Brass Ring Award – Children’s Diabetes Foundation 2016
Game Changer Award (Stand Up to Cancer), MLK Community Health Foundation 2015
Excellence in Education Award, Museum of Science & Industry, Chicago 2014
Dave Winfield Humanitarian Award, Professional Baseball Scouts Foundation 2014
Ellen V. Sigal Advocacy Leadership Award, Friends of Cancer Research 2013
The Lifetime Achievement Award, 27th Annual Israel Film Festival, Los Angeles 2013
The Dallas Star Award, 7th Annual Dallas International Film Festival 2013
The Colleagues Champion of Children Award, Children’s Institute, Inc. 2012
Stem Cell Action Leadership Award, World Stem Cell Summit 2011
Person of the Year, Big Ten Club of Southern California 2011
AIXplorer Achievement Award 2010
Centennial Medal for Distinguished Public Service, American Association for Cancer Research 2009
Patron of the Arts Award, The Screen Actors Guild Foundation 2009
Double Helix Medal, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory 2008
Humanitarian of the Year, Rotary Club of Century City 2008
Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award – 79th Academy Awards 2007
American Association of Cancer Research Public Service Award 2006
Vanguard Award, Women’s Leadership Exchange 2006
Exemplary Leadership in Management Award, UCLA Anderson School of Management 2005
Big Brothers Big Sisters (Los Angeles) Legacy Award 2005
Horatio Alger Humanitarian Award 2004
Woodrow Wilson Award for Corporate Citizenship 2003
Woman of the Year, United Way of Greater Los Angeles 2001
Milestone Award, Producers Guild of America 2000
Most Powerful Woman in Hollywood (named by Hollywood Reporter) 1999 and 2000
Outstanding National Leadership Award , Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center 1997
Pioneer of the Year, Foundation of Motion Picture Pioneers (first woman pioneer) 1996
Achievement Award, Overcoming Obstacles 1996
Silver Achievement Award, YWCA of Greater Los Angeles 1996
Achievement Award, Chicago Women in Film 1996
Motion Picture Showmanship Award, Publicists Guild 1996
Moving Image Award, American Museum of the Moving Image 1995
Exceptional Achievement Award, Women’s Project and Productions 1994
Woman of Vision, Retinitis Pigmentosa International 1994
Crystal Apple Award, AIDS Project Los Angeles 1994
Humanitarian Award, National Conference of Christians and Jews 1993
Golden Plate, American Academy of Achievement 1993
Distinguished Alumna Award, The University of Chicago Laboratory Schools 1993
Sterling Award, Big Sisters of Los Angeles 1992
Distinguished Service Award for the Performing Arts, Simon Wiesenthal Center 1992
Humanitarian of the Year Award, Mount Sinai Service Club of Chicago 1990
Raquela Woman of Valor Award, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev 1990
Alfred P. Sloan, Jr. Memorial Award, American Cancer Society 1989
Humanitarian Award, Los Angeles Commission on Assaults Against Women 1989
Leadership Award, National Women’s Economic Alliance Foundation 1986
Businessperson of the Year, Stanford Business School Alumni Association 1982
Distinguished Community Service Award, Brandeis University 1982
Outstanding Woman in Film, Women in Film 1981
Award of Hope, City of Hope 1981
Artistic Achievement Award, American Jewish Congress 1981
Woman of Achievement, United Jewish Welfare Fund 1980
Economic Equity Award, Women’s Equity Action League 1980
Woman of the Future, Ladies’ Home Journal 1979 and 1989